Lorch Among Announced Preliminary SA Olympic Squad

Estimated reading time: 7 minute(s)

South African Olympic U23 head coach David Notoane has announced a squad of 78 players that are set to take part in the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games that will be held from 24 July to 9 August 2020 in Japan.

Notoane has selected 8 goalkeepers for the preliminary group, 27 defenders, 24 midfielders and 19 strikers.

Among those included in the selection is the 20 years old 2019 players player of the season, Orlando Pirates midfielder Thembinkosi Lorch.

The final list should be with FIFA, who are running football at the Olympics, on 1 July 2020.

“We have a lot of hard work ahead of us to ensure that we take only the best to represent South Africa at this big stage. This is just a preliminary group of players that we think will be considered for the tournament, and as you can see it includes youngsters and seniors,” said Notoane.

Goalkeepers: Mondli Mpoto (Bloem Celtic); Darren Johnson (Ajax), Andile Mbanjwa (Richards Bay), Sifiso Mlungwana (Golden Arrows), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport)*, Ricardo Goss (Bidvest Wits)*, Jody February (Cape Umoya).

Defenders: Keanu Cupido (Cape Town City); Siyabonga Ngezana (Kaizer Chiefs), Tercious Malepe (Chippa Utd), Sandile Mthethwa (Chippa Utd), Njabulo Blom (Kaizer Chiefs), Reeve Frosler (Kaizer Chiefs), Given Msimango (Highlands Park), James Monyane (Orlando Pirates), Bongani Sam (Orlando Pirates), Katlego Mohamme (Tuks), Thendo Mukumela (Ajax), Happy Mashiane (Kaizer Chiefs), Keagan Johannes (Ajax), Jerry Msane (Highlands Park), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates)*, Thulani Hlatshwayo (Bidvest Wits)*, Motjeka Madisha (Sundowns)*, Mosa Lebusa (Sundowns)*, Sibusiso Mabiliso (Amazulu), Rivaldo Coetzee (Sundowns), Taariq Fielies (Cape Town City)*, Rushin De Reuck (Maritzburg Utd), Luke Fleurs (SuperSport).

Midfielders: Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport); Athenkosi Dlala (Tuks), Sipho Mbule (SuperSport), Kamohelo Mahlatsi (SuperSport), Grant Margeman (Ajax), Jamie Webber (SuperSport), Siphesihle Maduna (Amazulu), Siphesihle Ngcobo (Kaizer Chiefs), Sphelele Mkhulise (Sundowns), Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates)*, Vincent Pule (Orlando Pirates)*, Goodman Mosele (Baroka), Kgaogelo Sekota (Bidvest Wits), Aubrey Modiba (SuperSport)*, Themba Zwane (Sundowns)*, Siphesihle Mkhize (Ajax), Luvuyo Phewa (Real Kings).

Also Read  400m Olympic gold medalist Wayde van Niekerk added to the team heading to Tokyo Olympics

Forwards: Jemondre Dickens (TS Sporting); Itumeleng Shopane (Swallows FC), Phakamani Mahlambi (Sundowns), Bongani Hlongwane (Maritzburg Utd), Promise Mkhuma (Sundowns), Rowan Human (Bidvest Wits), Oswin Appolis (SuperSport), Gift Motupa (Bidvest Wits)*, Keletso Makgalwa (Sundowns), Judas Moseamedi (Maritzburg Utd)*, Bonginkosi Ntuli (Amazulu)*.

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap