Here is a list of Team SA to carry the flag at the Tokyo Olympics

Estimated reading time: 8 minute(s)

Photo: Google

SASCOC has made an announcement late Thursday night on 10 Team SA participants to represent South Africa at the Tokyo Olympics.

Tennis player Lloyd Harris had been selected to go to Tokyo, but withdrew citing a difficult schedule and fatigue from the Covid-19 bio bubbles.

The qualification process is still ongoing for some sports and end on 29 June 2021. More names will be released after that date.

At the last Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Team South Africa won 10 medals, which was an increase on the six medals that were won at London 2012.

There are 29 days to go to the Games which run from 23 July to 8 August.

Sakoyisa Makata, Dylan Sage, Impi Visser, Zain Davids, Angelo Davids, JC Pretorius, Branco du Preez, Selvyn Davids, Justin Geduld, Kurt-Lee Arendse, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Stedman Gans, Ronald Brown, Lubalalo Dobela, Chris Dry, Muller du Plessis, Ruhan Nel

Coaches and management: Neil Powell, Renfred Dazel, Ghafoer Luckan, Ashley Evert

Amica Hallenndorff, Shakira January, Meghan Maartens, Chloe Meecham, Georgie Moir, Boati Motau, Hannah Muller, Daniela Passoni, Megan Sileno, Ashleigh Vaughn, Jordan Wedderburn, Kelsey White. Reserve: Yanah Gerber

Coaches and management: Candice Williams, Delaine Mentor, Duncan Woods

Ignardus Badenhorst, Devon Card, Jason Evezard, Cameron Laurenson, Lwazi Madi, Farouk Mayman, Yaseen Margro, Liam Neill, Roarke Olver, Nicholas Rodda, Donn Stewart, Ross Stone, Gareth May

Coaches and management: Rowen Meth, Paul Martin, Vaughan Marlow

Tatjana Schoenmaker, Kaylene Corbett, Emma Chelius, Erin Gallagher, Ethan du Preez, Chad le Clos, Pieter Coetze, Bradley Tandy, Michael Houlie, Matthew Sates, Women’s 4x100m medley relay (Mariella Venter, Tatjana Schoenmaker, Erin Gallagher, Aimee Canny)

Also Read  400m Olympic gold medalist Wayde van Niekerk added to the team heading to Tokyo Olympics

Artistic swimming: Laura Strugnell, Clarissa Johnston

Coaches and management: Vicky Drinkwater

Melissa Williams, Andre Oberholzer, Boipelo Awuah, Brandon Valjalo

Coaches and management: Wendy Gila

Gillian Sanders, Henri Schoeman, Simon Ackermann, Richard Murray

Coaches and management: Kate Murray, Lyndsey Parry

Leo Davis

Coaches and management: Victor Davis

Jordy Smith

Coaches and management: Isaac February

Lawrence Brittain, John Smith, Sandro Torrento, Kyle Schoonbee, Jake Green, Luc Daffarn

Coaches and management: Roger Barrow, Marco Galeone

Kyle Blignaut, Marc Mundell, Wayde van Niekerk, Gift Leotlela, Shaun Maswanganyi

Coaches and management: Jean Verster, Hezekiel Sepeng, Paul Gorries, Irma Reyneke, Hendrik Ramaala, Pierre Blignaut, Jennifer Kingwell

Stefan De Bod


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.